Chakras In Human Body

Chakras in Human Body

The literal meaning of ‘Chakra' is “wheel” which is at times loosely translated as wheel of spinning energy. Chakras in human body are energy centers of the body which are located along the spine. They regularise the flow of energy across our body all through the meridians. These are said to be responsible for our different sets of behaviors and moods. Chakras are very significant in meditation.

The idea of chakra is generally associated with Buddhism, Jainism, and Hinduism. It was prevalent in the early traditions of these religions.


Chakras had the appearances in many old texts represented in different ways. The first appearance of the word Chakra can found in the Vedas. It is also mentioned in Buddhist text such as Hevajra Tantra and Caryāgiti and in Upanishads. Though the Buddhist texts mention only four chakras, Hindus texts have many more.

Seven Chakras in Human Body

Seven chakras are generally considered among most of the people. Although these are not the only chakras as there are 114 chakras in the human body. Also, there are 72000 energy channels called nadis through which the fundamental energy flows called prana.

A triangle is formed when the energy channels (nadis) meet at different points in the body.  This formation is called chakra instead of being a triangle. It is because the triangle formation is representative of growth, movement, and spinning energy.

Here we will discuss seven major chakras which are currently known widely.

These are -


Crown ChakraSahasrara, also called Crown Chakra, literally means one thousand. It is the seventh chakra among the 7 chakras in human body and represented by a lotus flower with one thousand petals of multifarious colors. It is sited in the top of the head in a subtle body.

The crown chakra is supposed to carry dynamic ideas, thoughts, energy, and intellect. It disseminates between the eyes and also all the other chakras effuse from it which makes Sahasrara one of the significant chakra. If energy reaches Sahasrara, one becomes rapturous and delirious. Therefore balancing the dimensions of chakras is one of the major aspects for cons consideration.

Ajna or Guru

Guru ChakraAjna, also known as Guru Chakra, is the sixth chakra which is represented by a lotus with two petals. It is also called Third-eye Chakra due to its location in between the eyebrows in a subtle body and symbolism of the conscience. If energy reaches Ajna, one leads to the attainment of inner peace, enlightenment, and liberation.

Of course, it should be done under proper guidance and awareness as imbalance and ignorance of chakras can be disruptive.


Throat ChakraVishuddha, also known as Throat Chakra, is the fifth chakra which is represented by a blue downward-facing triangle inside a lotus with sixteen purple petals.

As the name throat chakra suggests it is located in the void of the throat region.

Vishuddha regulates the flow of prana and is associated with discernment, intellectual, communication, expression, gestures, and pure body.

Anahata or Heart

Heart ChakraAnahata, also known as the Heart Chakra, is the fourth chakra among all the chakras in human body which is represented by two intersecting triangles inside a lotus with twelve petals. The two intersecting triangles represent the union of mother nature and the supreme being.

Anatha literally means unstruck and this is the reason the two intersecting triangle does not signify collision but unification. The heart chakra is sited atop the heart of the subtle body and associated with peace, love, and compassion.


Solar ChakraManipura, also known as the Navel or Solar Chakra,  is the third chakra which is represented by a red triangle pointing downward insider lotus with ten petals.

It is sited right above the navel of the subtle body and is associated with dynamism, confidence, determination, power, and wisdom. It is the center of one's creative and personal strength and will power. It is also linked with digestion, sight, and movement. This chakra helps in the elimination of all the aspects which are not required in one's life.


Sacral ChakraSvadisthana, also known as the Sacral Chakra, is the second chakra which is represented by a lotus with six petals.

It is sited straight above the genital organ or at the pelvis of The subtle body and associated with adaptability, sexual energy,  pleasure and to control desires and emotions.

Occlusion of this chakra may lead to neurosis, obsession, and emotional difficulties.


Root ChakraMuladhara, also known as the Root Chakra, is the first chakra which is represented by a lotus of four petals with a square within. It is sited at the base of the spine of the subtle body.

As the name root chakra suggests, chakra is considered as the fundamental foundation of life. Stabilization of Muladhara is given at most important in Yogic traditions.

Since Kundalini is quite dormant at this center, therefore, an awakening of it starts from here only. For the existence of the physical body, some magnitude of one's energy has to be in the root chakra. Like other chakras, balancing of Muladhara is important too.

Start the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *